Flash In The Pen - Microfiction Competition

Competition for Stories Under 100 words to be judged by Cynan Jones

In celebration of the 100th issue of Wales’ leading literary magazine, NWR ran a new competition for writers of microfiction called Flash in the Pen. All entries received are now being judged. The winning writers will be notified on or before 20 May.

First prize will be awarded to the story considered by the judge, author Cynan Jones, after due deliberation to be the best entry. There will also be one runner up, and one highly commended prize awarded. Entries will be filtered by NWR Editor, Gwen Davies. Entry is free.

The first prize will be awarded at the NWR 100 party at the Hay Literary Festival main site on Tuesday 28 May which is kindly sponsored by the Rendel Chair at the Department of English and Creative Writing, Aberystwyth University. This will follow the NWR event at 17.30 on 28 May as part of the main Hay Literary Festival with NWR editor Gwen Davies in conversation with authors of two Seren titles from the Mabinogion Series, Lloyd Jones and Cynan Jones.

First prize consists of £100 (kindly donated by Granta Books who will be publishing of Cynan Jones’ forthcoming novel, The Dig, in spring 2014); publication of the winning story in NWR 101; a copy of NWR 100 signed by Cynan Jones and Rhian Edwards; a one-year subscription to NWR and a hamper of the best writing from Wales – over twenty books worth more than £200. Full details of the hamper contents and runner-up and highly commended prizes appear below.

Terms and Conditions

The closing date for receipt of entries is 10 May 2013. Please note the closing date has now passed.
Entry is free
Writers are restricted to entering one story only
Stories should be under 100 words. Note that the title IS included in the word count. Stories can be on any subject
No alterations can be made to a story once it is submitted
Entries will be judged anonymously
Entry is open to writers across the UK, including Northern Ireland
No cash alternative available
Entries should be solely the work of the entrant and must never have been published or self-published either in print or online, or broadcast
Entries must not be translations and should be written in English
Entries must be submitted via the official entry webform on the NWR website
No entries will be returned so please keep a copy
The judge’s decision is final. No individual correspondence will be entered into
NWR reserve the right to withhold a prize(s) in the event that no entries are deemed to be of a sufficiently high standard
Prizewinners will be notified on or before 20 May 2013
Prizes will be awarded at the NWR 100 party at the Hay Literary Festival on the evening of Tuesday 28 May
We will not be sending copies of the results to entrants. Keep an eye on New Welsh Review for news of the results at the end of May
Copyright of any story remains with the author, but NWR has the unrestricted right to publish the winning entry in the magazine and in any related material for PR purposes
Employees or board members of NWR may not enter

How to Enter

Entry is now closed.

First Prize

£100 prize money
Copy of NWR 100 signed by Rhian Edwards and Cynan Jones
One-year subscription to NWR
Publication of the winning entry in NWR 101 (published 1 September 2013) per the competition terms and conditions
A hamper of books worth over £200 including titles from the best authors and publishers in Wales, listed below

NWR are very grateful for the support from the following publishers:

From Granta Books
Granta Books, the publishers of Cynan Jones’ forthcoming novel (early 2014), The Dig, have kindly donated the £100 prize money

Books donated by Cinnamon Press
‘Counting Steps: A Journey Through Landscape and Fatherhood,’ by Mark Charlton
‘Washing the Dead,’ by Sheelagh Weeks
‘A Handful of Water,’ by Rebecca Gethin
‘The Roaring Boys,’ by John Barnie

Books donated by Seren Books
‘Bird, Blood, Snow,’ by Cynan Jones
‘See How They Run,’ by Lloyd Jones
‘All The Souls,’ by Mary-Ann Constantine
‘The Scattering,’ by Jaki McCarrick

Books donated by University of Wales Press
‘Rediscovering Margiad Evans: Marginality, Gender and Illness,’ edited by Kirsti Bohata and Katie Gramich

Books donated by Alcemi
‘Twenty Thousand Saints,’ by Fflur Dayfdd
‘Faith, Hope and Love,’ by Llwyd Owen
‘Dovetail,’ by Jeremy Hughes
‘The Vagabond’s Breakfast,’ by Richard Gwyn

Books donated by Parthian
‘Fireball,’ by Tyler Keevil
‘Nu: Fiction and Stuff,’ edited by Tomos Owen
‘Look Me in the Eye,’ by SÍlvia Soler
‘Detached,’ Edited by Kelly Fitzgerald and Sandra Mackness
‘The Dark Philosophers,’ by Gwyn Thomas
‘Love and Other Possibilities,’ by Lewis Davies
‘Everything I Found on the Beach,’ by Cynan Jones

Books donated by Honno Press
‘All Shall be Well,’ edited by Stephanie Tillotson and Penny Thomas
‘My Heart on My Sleeve,’ edited by Janet Thomas and Cathryn A. Charnell-White

Books donated by Bloodaxe Books
‘Murmur’, by Menna Elfyn
‘RS Thomas: Uncollected Poems’, edited by Tony Brown and Jason Walford Davies

Books donated by Gomer
'Uncharted,' by Jon Gower
'Not Quite White,' by Simon Thirsk
'A Year of Flowers,' by John Barnie
'Alchemy of Water/Alcemi Dwr,' by Tony Curtis/Grahame Davies

Runner Up

Copy of NWR 100 signed by Rhian Edwards and Cynan Jones
One-year subscription to NWR
£10.00 National Book Token

Highly Commended

Copy of NWR 100 signed by Rhian Edwards and Cynan Jones
£10.00 National Book Token


A brief note on copyright:all authors have given permission for their work to appear online on New Welsh Review's website. Copyright remains with the author. If you wish to reproduce part or all of any article then the permission of the author must be sought, and the author and New Welsh Review credited accordingly.

Contact us:Registered Office PO Box 170, Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, SY23 1WZ - Telephone 00 (44) 1970 628410 admin@newwelshreview.com
© New Welsh Review Ltd, all rights reserved - Registered in England and Wales - Registered number: 02493828
Website design: mach2media and mopublications      Website development: Technoleg Taliesin Cyf.